What a good job. Here’s a sticker.

Image

I was thinking about that meme this morning that says,” Post a picture of my dog. Get 35 likes. Post a meaningful topic about NSA spying( or Ron Paul) , get 1 like.” So the story goes. There isn’t always a visible reward for doing right. It is a grave error we taught our children. Look mom, I got a sticker on my paper!! It has wiggled something at the back of my conscience. What happened to Jesus disciples? The founders. They died prosperous , wealthy people right?. Wrong. What has happened to this country where we have forgotten that doing right is its own reward. Honestly, I forget too. I get discouraged like you. I want to see it. I want the visible proof that what I am doing makes a difference. I want to change a life before I die. I try to teach my children this in the little things. If your room is a mess, you live in that cluttered, disgusting, pig slop( nice words huh?).When you clean it, that feeling you get, when your head hits the pillow, knowing you did the work . That feeling is entirely yours. That is your reward. You don’t need to be bribed or begged. The work and the accomplishment IS the reward.Why do we need to bribe kids to memorize verses? Isn’t knowing Gods Word enough?” If you give a mouse a Cookie..” If_You_Give_A_Mouse_A_Cookie
People want a reward for their deeds.They want to be noticed. They want recompense. I want my kids to be like their Dad. He never does what he does for glory. Believe me he has his opportunities too. He’s a linemen but besides that he can do just about anything.( It’s so annoying!!!) He was waiting in line one day at a gas station, he was at the back. It was around Christmas time and the station was buzzing with people. A young mom was up front buying formula, milk, bread and eggs. Her card got denied. Now with all of the “men” in front of my husband you would think someone, anyone would say, “hey let me get that.” She wasn’t buying booze or anything. No-one moved. So He comes from the back of the line and says I’ll pay for it. That is not the first time he’s helped people either; He’s changed tires, driven people who were stranded, helped neighbors, saved someones life, payed people’s rent, moved my friends out of situations and on and on. All the while he will never tell you. He never wants people to know and never tries to lift himself up. He didn’t do that,that day because he wanted everyone to see how great he was. No he did it because there was a need. If he didn’t do it. Who would? Who will help the orphans and the widows? Who will feed the poor and help those in need? You cannot wait for someone else to do right. They are not going to. Do not expect a tangible reward. Do not expect people to think you are so wonderful. Sometimes it is a lonely path. Just ask Ron Paul.

Benjamin Franklin was known to have started many things like Libraries, fire departments etc. He apparently believed Virtue was its own reward( not believing that it granted him salvation though). In a conversation with his mother he said” I would rather have it said, He lived usefully, than he died rich.” I guess he didn’t need a sticker.
ben franklin virtue

Leave a Reply

