Everyone drops the pickle jar!

Standard

The only thing I heard was” Cheyenne use two hands!”The next sound was glass shattering on the hard pavement. I waited. It’s the moment I knew was coming . Then came the crying. I stuck my head out the door. “Cheyenne what happened?” Through sniffles and little tears her broken heart said, “I dropped the pickle jar”. We had just come home from grocery shopping. First of all shopping with my husband is always interesting. We shop at Aldi’s a lot. I’m too brain-dead to coupon right now. So he decided we did not need anymore bags.” Okay”, I said “but they are going to roll around in the car.” I just shake my head and smile. He’s helping me is all I can repeat silently:O) So back to the driveway Cheyenne is in tears. I yell “Cheyenne everyone has dropped a pickle jar before, don’t worry Daddy will clean it up.( As the Amish are clip clopping by smiling at me) Just get away from the glass.”broken pickle jar All Cheyenne could see was . I failed. I had this one job and I blew it. So she comes in the house and I hug her. For some reason today I knew I understood better than other days. I told her. Cheyenne I am so glad you’re( please don’t think I’m being corny here. I’m not one of theses moms who goes overboard .)helping. It’s okay that it broke. It’s just a jar of pickles. I used to drop everything( Haha who am I kidding, I still do!)We hugged and I wiped the tear away. She smiled when I offered her a strawberry. (somehow I think I may have been had) I said “now why don’t you help me clean off this table.” Cheyenne was restored. The pickle jar was already in the past where it should be. I stood there for a moment thinking about this. Cheyenne is the child in my house who is full of life. I mean it is bursting out of her. She does not do anything half-hearted. Jumping on the trampoline with the other kids goes like this” Daniel says, “mom watch this”, then Cheyenne rolls in jumps higher and says, “wait mom watch this.” Daniel stops because Cheyenne is a tiny peanut. Daniel tries to speak again ( just picture dash from the Incredibles) Cheyenne is flipping, jumping, smiling, arms flailing, hair flying, all heart. Daniel says(sarcastically) “Never mind mom I’ll just sit on the edge and let Cheyenne show you.” We both grin. What if when Cheyenne had dropped that pickle jar I yelled “Cheyenne, come on we told you two hands, look what you did!” The weight of her mistake would have bore down on her spirit crushing her. Then every time she helped with the groceries we said” Cheyenne you cannot help carry in the pickle jar. You broke it once. She would be forever broken realizing we judged her about the broken pickle jar.
stone
I could not help think of this ,(John 8:1-11)
8 Jesus went unto the mount of Olives.

2 And early in the morning he came again into the temple, and all the people came unto him; and he sat down, and taught them.

3 And the scribes and Pharisees brought unto him a woman taken in adultery; and when they had set her in the midst,

4 They say unto him, Master, this woman was taken in adultery, in the very act.

5 Now Moses in the law commanded us, that such should be stoned: but what sayest thou?

6 This they said, tempting him, that they might have to accuse him. But Jesus stooped down, and with his finger wrote on the ground, as though he heard them not.

7 So when they continued asking him, he lifted up himself, and said unto them, He that is without sin among you, let him first cast a stone at her.

8 And again he stooped down, and wrote on the ground.

9 And they which heard it, being convicted by their own conscience, went out one by one, beginning at the eldest, even unto the last: and Jesus was left alone, and the woman standing in the midst.

10 When Jesus had lifted up himself, and saw none but the woman, he said unto her, Woman, where are those thine accusers? hath no man condemned thee?

11 She said, No man, Lord. And Jesus said unto her, Neither do I condemn thee: go, and sin no more.
I know this about home educating. I think more than anything my kids educate me. In every circumstance I can see God speaking to me. I saw it in the insignificant pickle jar. I see it when Cheyenne smiles those 400+ smiles a day. When she holds our chicks and tells me each quirky little name. Home educating happens everyday.
So this woman, can you imagine today? We would post about her on Facebook. She would never out live her past.Not because she did not want to, but because WE wouldn’t let her. We’d let everyone know. She was the adulterer. Look what Jesus says” Woman where are thine accusers?” Then he tells her He does not condemn her. Amazing. If our Lord can forgive someone like that, if he can see past her past, why can’t we? No accusers. Imagine if all God’s people treated each other like that. Instead we feel the need to share and warn others. To post about people on Facebook. Let God be the judge. Put your stones down. Everyone breaks a pickle jar. We just need someone to be there to help us clean up the mess and be restored. Jesus says I don’t condemn you. Let them post. Let them think what they think. You have no accusers. What a great lesson for us to see. He is for You.
Whether it’s broken pickle jars or broken lives, The Master Teacher once again shows me through my children how to treat others . Don’t you think that is so awesome!? I’m humbled as usual.( Always feel free to comment. I’d love to hear your thoughts.)woman_9 He is for You.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

