Where are Calvin and Hobbes when you need them?

Standard

Let the children come unto me and forbid them not. Can’t you see Him? Jesus is sitting there with the children. It’s the iconic picture we all love. We picture people singing Jesus loves the little children. Let’s fast forward to 2013. Lets paint the picture today would bring. Here’s what I see.
Excuse me children are you running? No, running! You could fall down and get hurt. Children, Children! Jesus doesn’t want all this racket be quiet!. Skipping is Not using your walking feet! Now walk over to Jesus and sit quietly with your hands in your lap. No talking. If my son Daniel was there they’d say Daniel stop asking questions.(Because you know what would happen if he asked a question?) Oh and wait please don’t touch Jesus without hand sanitizer . Yucky germs.
Everywhere I go I see it. Children are not allowed to be children. Now I am not talking about brats. I am talking about even when we say we want children to be individual. We don’t let them. They must fit our pattern of behavior. Our rules for life. Older folks cannot stand having these loud children around and I mean if they run, whoa buddy watch out. Please dont get mud on the floor(that would be Joel)calvin puddle
I saw this study on smiling. It said adults smile 7 times a day( one fake) and children 400 times a day.
They know how to really smile.Let’s take all the laughter and joy out of them and say no fun allowed, sorry.
calvin-and-hobbes-e1328550590232
What’s left? Staying inside looking out the window watching life pass you by? How about a nation with an obesity problem in kids? I drive by house after house. Where are the kids after school? Inside playing video games or on a device. What happened to exploring, to adventures in the woods? If you live in the city, how about a park? My memories of my time spent in the woods behind my house in Sandy Hook are like old friends. I remember the story lines I created. It was my escape from the real world. It was my Narnia.narnia
Have we so forgotten what makes a child a child that we stifle them at every turn? I know kids get out of hand. I know they do outrageous things. I did them.I have four of them. I lived by Lake Zoar. In the winter the stream running down the mountainside there froze. It was like heaven for me. On this one part the road drain came out and made a frozen waterfall you could go behind. I waited all year to see this. My imagination soared. What makes a person an individual is allowing them to express this wonderful imagination. We live in such a fearful society today we don’t allow this to flourish.
So what happens when a child asks a question and you don’t know the answer? What if the child challenges your belief system? What will happen. Is it about the child or the control ? My husband told me in his public school they stopped calling on him. They would say anyone but Dan. Why? People are afraid of true individuals. We want everyone to agree politically , religiously, socially. We want to make them by rules and legislation to force them into a mold. It starts at child hood. It starts in our homes, YES in our churches. It won’t matter if you say Let the children come, we still want them coming just like us. Quiet, orderly, perfectly the opposite of an individual. If you always stifle what is in a child you will miss great moments like yesterday. Daniel came to me. He had one of those moments. He’s a reader. He has read books on every topic imaginable. I finally got him the complete Chronicles of Narnia series. I found it at a Goodwill. Every single book! So he reread the first 6 a few times then savored book 7 a while. He said “Mom I wish every book ended like this,”( me too)

You do not yet look so happy as I mean you to be,’ said Aslan.
Lucy said, ‘We’re do afraid of being sent away, Aslan. And you have sent us back into our own world so often.’
‘No fear of that,’ said Aslan. ‘Have you not guessed?’
Their hearts leaped and a wild hope rose within them.
‘There was a real railway accident,’ said Aslan softly. ‘Your father and mother and all of you are—as you used to call it in the Shadowlands—dead. The term is over: the holidays have begun. The dream is ended: this is the morning.’
And as He spoke He no longer looked to them like a lion; but the things that began to happen after that were so great and beautiful that I cannot write them. And for us this is the end of all the stories, and we can most truly say that they all lived happily ever after. But for them it was only the beginning of the real story. All their life in this world and all their adventures in Narnia had only been the cover and the title page: now at least they were beginning Chapter One of the Great Story which no one on earth has read: which goes on for ever: in which every chapter is better than the one before.

Now that seems to contradict my post but it doesn’t. We spent the weekend building an awesome snow fort and of course the worms. Yet here is Daniel not focusing on the latest trend. He wanted to savor the ending of a book. He told me he could read it over and over. Individual. So today maybe when you see a sign at a playground that says no running, or when a child asks the that question that makes you feel dumb( everyday for me:) . Let them be kids, happy smiling 400 times a day kids. WHOM do you think created them to be that way?
calvin hobbes rock

Leave a Reply

